So You Have A Teenage Driver!
Do you know the rules for a Junior Driver’s License?
Turning 16 years old often old marks an occasion feared by parents and eagerly anticipated by teenagers – getting a driver’s license. Exciting as it may be, there are a few things you should know about the junior driver’s license in Pennsylvania. Here’s a primer on the regulations and restrictions.
Junior driver’s license is effective from 16 years of age to 18 years of age (automatically becomes a regular license when the holder turns 18).
Cannot drive between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless accompanied by a parent, guardian, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older EXCEPT in the course of employment, public or charitable service, or in service to a volunteer fire company and have a certificate of authorization from employer, supervisor, or fire chief which states a likely schedule.
For the first six months after receiving junior license, cannot have more than 1 non-family passenger under 18 years of age unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
After the first six months, cannot have more than 3 non-family passengers under 18 years of age without a parent or guardian.
If junior driver has been convicted of driving violation or has been at fault in a reportable accident (any accident involving injury, death, or damage to a vehicle that prevents it from being driven away), they are prohibited from having more than 1 non-family passenger under 18 years of age until they attain their regular driver’s license.
If junior driver is at fault in a reportable accident, the license may be suspended until the junior license holder turns 18.
Mandatory suspension upon accumulation of 6 or more points or conviction for speeding 26 mph or more over speed limit.
A detailed outline of what can you need to know regarding a new driver in Pennsylvania can be found here:
Know the law surrounding your teenager’s license. Call us to ask the questions surrounding any situations your teenager may encounter. 610-945-9456.
Posted on December 26, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged Auto Accident Lawyer Montgomery County PA, junior driver's license, Juvenille Lawyer Montgomery County Pa. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on So You Have A Teenage Driver!.